Presented by McLaughlin Brunson Insurance Agency

On May 28th, the AIA Dallas Unbuilt Design Awards will open with a gallery show at the Life in Deep Ellum Cultural Center and feature a panel discussion with three critically acclaimed jurors. The show will feature all entries submitted this year. Work will remain on display through July 11th and culminate with a closing reception featuring a discussion with the winning project teams as well as the announcement of a People’s Choice Design Award. We will begin accepting entries this Monday, April 20th - submit a project and become part of the discussion. For more information, view the submission requirements and project information sheet. Read more about the changes to this year’s program here.

2015 Unbuilt Design Awards Dates:
Monday, April 20th: Submission Opens
Friday, May 1st at 5:00 pm: Early Bird Submission Deadline
Friday, May 15th at 5:00 pm: Final Submission Deadline
Thursday, May 28th: Unbuilt Design Awards Gallery Opening & Awards Announcement

Entry registration is now closed. Check back after the awards announcement on May 28th to view the winners and entries!

Winners announced! View the Unbuilt Design Awards winners here.

Jenny Wu - Partner at Oyler+Wu Collaborative

Jenny Wu is a founding partner of Oyler Wu Collaborative and currently teaches first year design studio at SCI-Arch. She received her undergraduate degree from Columbia and her Masters of Architecture from Harvard. The Oyler-Wu Collaborative, founded in 2004 with Dwayne Oyler, is a multi-faceted practice with a strong focus on small-scale installations and fabrication as well as the design of large projects across the world. Many projects are experimental in nature and are actually fabricated by the members of the practice themselves. This enables the design to further evolve and progress, even as it is being constructed. The practice has won numerous awards; 2013 Design Vanguard Award (from Architectural Record), 2013 Emerging Talent Award (from AIA California Council),and Taiwan’s ADA Award for Emerging Architect among others. In addition to her work at Oyler Wu, she has designed a collection of 3D-printed jewelry entitled LACE. This project applies her design sensibilities to an even smaller scale, and utilizes 3D printing to create pieces impossible to produce by any other method. Jenny has published a book, Primitives, in addition to Pendulum Plane and Trilogy: SCI-ARC Pavilions by Oyler Wu.

Elizabeth Whitaker – Founder and Principal at Merge Architects

Elizabeth Whittaker, AIA, is the founder and principal of MERGE architects. Elizabeth has served on the Boston Society of Architects/AIA Board of Directors and has been nominated for the National American Institute of Architects, Young Architect’s Award. She graduated from Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design with Distinction where she received numerous awards during her graduate studies including the Core Studio Prize, the Faculty Design Award, and the John E. Thayer Award for overall academic achievement. Elizabeth approaches architecture as a discipline embedded in both practice and academia. She has taught design studios in several Architecture programs including Harvard University (GSD), Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Northeastern University, and the Boston Architectural College. Elizabeth currently holds a faculty position as Assistant Professor in Practice of Architecture at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design.

Adam Yarinsky – FAIA, Principal at Architecture Research Office (ARO)

Adam Yarinsky, FAIA, holds an undergraduate degree in Architecture from the University of Virginia and a Master of Architecture from Princeton University. He has served as the Eliel Saarinen Professor and as the Sanders Teaching Fellow at the University of Michigan, and as the Shure Professor at the University of Virginia. He has also taught at Harvard University, Princeton University, Yale University, Syracuse University, Parsons/The New School and Washington University in St. Louis. Adam has lectured widely throughout the United States and abroad. Recent articles by Adam have appeared in A+U, 306090, Dimensions, and Places Journal. Adam is a board member of Places Journal.


Thank You to Our 2015 Sponsors:






2014 Design Award Winners

View the Built Awards Winners and Entries here.

2013 Design Award Winners

View the Unbuilt Awards Winners and Entries here.

View the Built Awards Winners and Entries here.

2012 Design Award Winners

View the Unbuilt Awards Winners and Entries here.

View the Built Awards Winners and Entries here.

Website managed by Archistration, llc.
© AIA Dallas, 2015.